Why Singapore Rocks

Introduction to “Why Singapore Rocks!”

As an acronym, the term A.S.E.A.N. has become the name of a small regional trade & tourism organization known as the “Association of South East Asian Nations.” Not all of the nations in the greater south east asian region have joined (India, for example, most conspicuously absent), but the current membership includes: Indonesia, Cambodia, Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar, The Phillipeans, Singapore, Malaysia, and Thailand. There remains, however, a larger concept of the term “Asean”, which embraces a sense of shared destiny and multicultural imperatives among these various emerging economies. Particularly when it comes to their globally-aware youth cultures. HIstorically distinct as these nations are, grouping them together for mutual benefit is no more unlikely than the mutual interests that make NATO possible. Continue reading “Why Singapore Rocks”